08 Feb Connecticut Highway Use Fee
Starting January 1, 2023, Connecticut will impose a Highway Use Fee on eligible carriers operating on any highway in Connecticut. The first Highway Use Fee Return will be due no later than February 28, 2023.
Connecticut General Statutes define an eligible carrier as a vehicle with a gross weight of 26,000 pounds or more, and carries a classification between Class 8 and Class 13 under the Federal Highway Administration vehicle classification system. Carriers transporting milk or dairy products to or from a dairy farm that holds a license to ship milk is except from the Highway Use Fee.
The Highway Use Fee is calculated based on the vehicles weight and number of miles driven within Connecticut. The rate starts at $0.025 per mile for vehicles weighing between 26,000 and 28,000 pounds topping out at $0.175 per mile for vehicles weighing 80,001 pounds and over.
Carriers must register and pay the Highway Use Fee via myconneCT.
For more information on Highway Use Fee Tax visit Connecticut State Department of Revenue Services.