PCI Assurance Card

2024 Total Eclipse


On Monday, April 8, 2024, the Moon will pass in front of the Sun creating a Total Eclipse.  According to NASA research there was an estimated 12 million people residing in the path of the 2017 eclipse that was 62 to 71 miles wide. The 2024 path is expected to range from 108 to 122 miles wide with an estimated 31.6 million people living in the path and an additional 150 million living within 200 miles of the path.

But what does this mean for Specialized Carriers?  States along the path are anticipating traffic to increase drastically as individuals search for the perfect location to view the eclipse. Not only is traffic a factor but states along the path of totality can expect the sky to darken, mimicking dawn or dusk for approximately 3 to 4 minutes, making driving conditions hazardous. In an effort to ensure the safety of their citizens, visitors, commuters, and specialized carriers many states have restricted travel.

State/AgencyTravel Restrictions
ArkansasNo oversize travel from sunset 4/4 until sunrise 4/10
IndianaRecommends no travel for any permit type from 5:59pm 4/7 until sunrise 4/9; Starting at Noon 4/8 all weigh stations will stop operations and will serve as a safe haven for commercial vehicles, parking will be limited to commercial vehicles only and will be available until all spots are filled.
KentuckyNo travel restrictions, but strongly recommends limited travel especially in the western part of the state.
MaineNo travel 4/8
MissouriNo travel 4/8 in Wright, Douglas, Ozark, Texas, Howell, Shannon, Oregon, Reynolds, Carter, Ripley, Iron, Wayne, Butler, St. Francois, Madison, Ste. Genevieve, Bollinger, Stoddard, Perry, Cape Girardeau, Scott, Mississippi, New Madrid, Dunklin, and Pemiscot
New YorkNo travel from 6:00am 4/8 until 9:00pm 4/9 for the following counties Albany, Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Clinton, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Onondaga, Oneida, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Seneca, Steuben, Warren, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates
New York ThruwayNo travel from 6:00am 4/8 until Sunrise 4/10 on I-90 both directions from Exit 24 to the PA line and the entire span of I-190
OklahomaNo travel 4/8-4/9 in McCurtain County
Pennsylvania No travel 4/8 on several routes in Erie, Mercer, Warren, Crawford, and Venango Counties.  
TexasNo travel 4/8 in the following counties: Anderson, Atascosa, Bandera, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Bosque, Bowie, Brown, Burnet, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Coleman, Collin, Comal, Comanche, Coryell, Dallas, Delta, Denton, Dimmit, Edwards, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Franklin, Freestone, Frio, Gillespie, Grayson, Gregg, Hamilton, Harrison, Hays, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, Lamar, Lampasas, Leon, Limestone, Llano, Marion, Mason, Maverick, McLennan, McCulloch, Medina, Menard, Milam, Mills, Morris, Navarro, Parker, Rains, Real, Red River, Robertson, Rockwall, San Saba, Smith, Somervell, Sutton, Tarrant, Titus, Travis, Upshur, Uvalde, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Williamson, Wood, and Zavala.
VermontNo travel 4/8 if > 108,000lbs, 12'0"w, 100'l
*Information provided as a courtesy to our Customers. Agencies may amend restrictions and closures with little to no notice. Permit America makes every effort to ensure information is accurate and updated in a timely manner. In the event of a discrepancy drivers MUST follow the provisions on their permit.







No Comments

Post A Comment